IOMYC unveils newly refurbished club house
8th July 2020
IOMYC 2020 Summer Dinghy Regatta Results
18th July 2020
Show all

IOMYC held the last 2 races in the Glenburn Cup Series last night in a steady 12 – 15 mph South Westerly. Ben Batchelor stole a march on the rest of the fleet in his Aero 7 to take the win in the first race with just 1 second separating Peter Cope’s Aero 5 in 2nd place and the National 18 of Phil, Chris & Peter in 3rd. The racing behind the leading 3 could not have been tighter, with 9 boats all finishing within the minute on corrected time.

Such was the eagerness of the 23 boats on the water to start the final race, that over 1/2 the fleet were OCS causing a general recall. Teddy Dunn nailed the pin end on the restart, which was all together a much more orderly affair. The Aero’s again had some very close racing, but the National 18 was able to hold them off on corrected to time to take 1st place with Greg Kelly & Erin Murphy in 2nd in the RS 200 and Ben in 3rd.

The final scores on the doors saw the 2020 Glenburn Cup go to the National 18 on 10 points, Peter Cope in 2nd on 12 points and Teddy Dunn in 3rd on 24 points. Full results here

There will be an additional race this Sunday, 19th July – start time 10:30 am and then Thursday 23rd July will be the start of the Qualtrough Cup Series. Both good practice for the IOMYC Regatta scheduled for Saturday 25th & Sunday 26th July (Start time 2:30 pm on Sat & 10:30 am on Sunday).